A Day Like Today

Link to my Podbean podcast.

The first sound you hear in my Sound File is the alarm clock that wakes me up. I was surprised to find out that both people who Peer Edited my file didn’t understand it was an alarm, even though the man says, “…it appears to be morning” then goes on to apologize and explain why ‘sir’ has to get up. I put that file in the beginning because it is my beginning. That sound is how I begin my days. The second sound, Henry’s laughter, I put in because it is my favorite sound and one that gets me going and keeps me in motion.  I chose Booker T and the MGs song, Green Onions because I really like the song. I love oldies. Henry and I always put music on in the mornings when we get ready and oldies is one of the first genres I pick to put on. I also thought the song fit my Sound File as it helped in describing and setting the mood of the Soundscape my life; it has a quick tempo, a certain sense of urgency about the rhythm and it is definitely a good, catchy tune. Besides I like the song. J I interspersed Fade Ins and Fade Outs as I began or ended my narration. I know narration should be given the title Audio Signal, as that is where we want the listener to direct all of their attention especially when the music was playing in the background. That is one thing one of my Peer Editors pointed out; when the voices came on, they were too loud for comfort. So, I have made adjustments and I believe I have achieved a much better balance between background sound and foreground sound. The first words of my first Voice Over begin, “My life these days…” which was my hope in setting the Keynote of the sound file for the listener. In hearing those words, a listener would put together, after hearing my alarm clock, Henry saying he is not a morning person, me saying, “Lets listen to some music while we get ready for the day, Babes”, that this sound file was going to about a particular person.

I created this sound file and storyboard, somewhat hand in hand. I had lots of notes in the form of freehand writing of what I wanted to put in my file. I had many sounds prerecorded when I began my sound file-not all of my narrations were prerecorded-and I had a rough storyboard before I began. My storyboard helped me keep track of my Fade In and Fade Outs and also any place in the sound file that may need a smoother transition from one piece to another.

While I was producing this sound file, I did think of how useful these new skills could potentially be in other classes for presentations. In a job, using a sound file could be very useful for marketing the business or marketing within the business. It could be useful for presentations also. Even offhand, if you needed to send a quick idea to a colleague about a project you were working on and didn’t want to take the time to type it, you could open Audacity or some other voice software, record your ideas and thoughts then send them off for their listening.

A Podcast reaches as many listeners as it wants to. That is one affordance. Availability. That the listener can stop, rewind or fast forward the podcast is another affordance. That a person doesn’t have to be able to see or use their hands to receive the information or enjoy the music with the podcast is another affordance. Time is another affordance; anytime, anywhere with any device.

Minute count Sound Effect Affordance/Notes
0:00-0:12.5 Alarm Clock

“Excuse Me, Sir”

Part of my Sound Scape Introduces listener to my morning wake up call, sets the stage for my busy life. Reading these words would not invoke the same response as listening to them. Everyone knows an alarm when they hear one.
0:12.5-0;24 Me waking Henry in the morning to another glorious day. Introduction to Keynote Identifies me-I am not a ‘Sir’ 😉 contrary to my alarm.  Gives the listener insight that I have a son who is young enough to still need a wake-up call.
0:24-0:44.5 Henry laughing and waking up Some of the Sound Scape of my Sound File, also gives a Sound Portrait to my file. Conversation

One of my Sound Marks J

0:44.5-0:53 Music from Green Onions Booker T & the MGs begins Fade Out of Voice

Fade In of Music (0:44.5-47:0)

Music works well with setting the mood for my Sound Portrait/Biography of busy and on the move
0:53-1:33 Music in the background with myself narrating on a little bit about me Keynote of piece

Voice Over

Sound Performance

Does the thinking for the listener. Once the keynote of the piece has begun, the listener knows, “Ah-ha! This is what the piece is about.”
1:33-1:45 Music from Green Onions Booker T & the MGs Rhetorical Coherence by using the same song throughout the Sound file Keeps listener engaged. Easy listening, doesn’t require too much from the audience
1:45-2:05 Narration with Music Sound Performance
2:05-2:43 Thunderstorm Part of Sound Scape

Audio Signal

Engaging, provoking, personal
2:43-2:50 Music Rhetorical Coherence Gives the listener a few seconds to come back in to the Keynote, get ready to focus in on Audio Signal
2:50-3:14 Narration Audio Signal

ENG 224 STORYBOARD+Blank

Final Product User Tested by April Jones

Cecilia Walls

Leave a Reply

